Tuesday, March 19, 2013

add 137

The Union is the eponymous debut album by The Union, the English rock band formed by ex-Thunder guitarist Luke Morley and Peter Shoulder (formerly of Winterville). BBC reviewed the album on August 8, calling it "a collaboration which benefits from a perfect pairing of youth and experience" and noting that it "could well be the album of their collective careers". Music News noted that the "critically acclaimed release" was "a very modern take on classic styles", featuring "impeccable songwriting" and "uniquely powerful and emotive vocals".

01. Watch The River Flow
02. Easy Street
03. Saviour
04. Step Up To The Plate
05. Holy Roller
06. You Know My Name
07. Come Rain Come Shine
08. Black Monday
09. Amazon
10. This Time Next Year
11. Lillies
12. The Space Between Us

Combining youth with experience, The Union formed from the ashes of one of the UK blues-rock scene's most under-rated contemporary bands and from one of its most enduring and successful exponents. Peter Shoulder, the lead vocalist of North East trio Winterville, who recorded just one album, Everything In Moderation, before splitting in 2007, and Luke Morley, the chief songwriter, guitarist and producer of London rock veterans Thunder, had previously met in 2001 and spent the subsequent eight years working together whenever their respective band commitments allowed them to. But it was only when Thunder went their separate ways in 2009, after twenty years and nine studio albums together, that the duo began recording material under the guise of The Union. Joined by Morley's former bandmate Chris Childs and The Quireboys and Tokyo Dragons drummer Phil Martini for their live shows, they played their first gig in the same year at London's The Relentless Garage, and went onto perform at the Sonsiphere and High Voltage festivals, as well as their own headline tour before releasing their self-titled debut album in 2010. Featuring the singles "Step Up To The Plate," "Watch The River Flow" and "This Time Next Year," it pursued a more eclectic direction than their previous output, taking in blues, Americana, folk and acoustic rock alongside their renowned harder-edged sound. After scooping Best New Band Of The Year at the Classic Rock Awards, they supported Thin Lizzy, Triggerfinger and Whitesnake on their European tours, and released their second album, Siren's Song, in 2011.


No comments: