Friday, March 22, 2013

add 0146

Before the name Jimmy Page became synonymous with hard rock guitar, the guitarist was a much sought-after session player in London -- appearing on a variety of artists' recordings. Some were well known (the Kinks, the Who, etc.), but quite a few were obscurities -- which serves as the basis for the 20-track No Introduction Necessary [Deluxe Edition]. Although Led Zeppelin touched upon a variety of musical styles throughout their career, the first 14 tracks could all be neatly placed in the 1960s rock & roll/pop genre -- the amps are certainly not cranked to ten here. But you do get a glimpse into Page's playing as a 'hired gun' -- "Lovin' Up a Storm" and "Boll Weevil Song" are enjoyable (yet not exactly 'must-hear') selections. Closer to the hard rock sound you expect from Page are several tracks that close out the collection, which are taken from the obscure 1970 Screaming Lord Sutch recording, Lord Sutch and Heavy Friends. Page produces and plays on the record (even co-penning a few tracks), and while the music does reflect early Led Zeppelin at times (John Bonham also plays), the vocals of Screaming Lord Sutch don't come close to matching up to those of Robert Plant. Overall, not a bad compilation of Page's early playing. ~ All Music Guide

01. Lovin' Up a Storm
02. Everything I Do Is Wrong
03. Think It Over
04. Boll Weevil Song
05. Livin' Lovin' Wreck
06. One Long Kiss
07. Dixie Fried
08. Down the Line
09. Fabulous
10. Breathless
11. Rave On
12. Lonely Weekend
13. Burn Up
14. Everyday
15. Wailing Sounds
16. 'Cause I Love You
17. Flashing Lights
18. Thumping Beat
19. Union Jack Car
20. Baby Come Back

Recorded at Olympic Studios, Barnes, England. Includes liner notes by Dave Thompson.

Performers include: Jimmy Page (guitar); Keith de Groot, David Sutch (vocals); Albert Lee, Jim Sullivan (guitar); Chris Hughes (tenor saxophone); Nicky Hopkins (piano); John Paul Jones, Daniel Edwards (bass); Clem Cattini, John Bohman (drums).

No comments: