Saturday, February 09, 2013

add 033

"The Holy Haunted House" is a live recording released by Gov't Mule in June 2008. It includes the entire 2007 Halloween performance including their cover of Led Zeppelin's album "Houses of the Holy".

The leaders of Gov't MuleWarren Haynes and Allen Woody, should be well known to Allman Brothersfans for their stint in Southern rock's most famous native sons. In 1989, Haynes became the second replacement for Duane Allman, providing a good foil for Gregg Allman and Dickey Betts on guitar and vocals; Woody filled out the Allman sound on bass. Five years after their debut, the duo joined drummerMatt Abts in the side project Gov't Mule, a band in which the Allman Brothers' influence is apparent but complicated with the psychedelic, bluesy power trio feel of Cream.
Gov't Mule debuted in 1995 with a self-titled album on Capricorn Records, followed by the stellar concert date Live at Roseland Ballroom. The studio follow-up, Dose, appeared in early 1998; another concert set,Live...With a Little Help from Our Friends, followed a year later, with the complete show later appearing as a four-disc limited-edition set. A new studio effort, Life Before Insanity, appeared in early 2000. A vital member of the band was lost, however, on August 26, 2000, whenWoody was found dead in a hotel room in New York City. The band had been preparing to record their next album, and after a time, Gov't Mule finally decided to carry on with the project, this time with guest bassists ranging from Flea to Bootsy Collins. The two-volume Deep End series for ATO Records resulted.Phish bassist Mike Gordon also got involved in the project, filming the recording of the albums for a planned documentary. In mid-September 2001, the group hit the road for a six-week tour in support ofDeep End, Vol. 1Oteil Burbridge filled in as bassist for most of the dates.
The second volume of Live...With a Little Help from Our Friendsappeared in 2002 and the Deepest End: Live in Concert CD and DVD in 2003. One year later saw the release of Déjà VoodooGov't Mule's first studio effort since Woody's death. It featured his official replacement, bassist Andy Hess, as well as new keyboardist Danny Louis. The same lineup released High & Mighty in 2006. The two-volume Benefit Concert series followed in 2007. In 2009, Gov't Mule issued By a Thread, its first studio album in three years. Hess was replaced by bassist Jorgen Carlsson, and the album featured a guest appearance byZZ Top guitarist Billy Gibbons. In 2010, the Evil Teen imprint issuedMulennium, a three-disc package that commemorated Gov't Mule's complete 1999 New Year's Eve concert at Atlanta's historic Roxy Theatre with the band's original lineup. The concert also included guest appearances by the Black CrowesLittle Milton, and Audley Freed.
01. Play With Fire
02. Time To Confess
03. Million Miles From Yesterday
04. Rocking Horse
05. Birth Of The Mule
06. Larger Than Life
07. Fallen Down
08. The Other One Jam
09. Blind Man In The Dark

01. The Song Remains The Same
02. The Rain Song
03. Over The Hills and Far Away
04. The Crunge
05. Dancing Days
06. Drums
07. D'Yer Mak'er
08. No Quarter
09. The Ocean
10. Come On Into My Kitchen
11. 32/20 Blues

No comments: